Andy Dick is most well-known for his comedy roles, but he is gaining notoriety in another way. His long list of legal troubles is becoming more tied to his name than his stand-up shows and movies. Most recently, Dick made headlines when he was arrested for assault with a deadly weapon.

What happened to lead to this recent charge, and what potential consequences can you expect from an assault charge like this?

The Details of Andy Dick’s Assault Charge

On June 26, 2021, Dick was arrested in Hollywood for felony assault with a deadly weapon.

It is reported by Page Six that Dick got into a physical altercation with Lucas Crawford, a man who is said to have had an intimate relationship with Dick. The two men were joking around, play-fighting when it turned serious.

Dick claims that Crawford body-slammed him, broke his femur and ankle, and caused damage to his tendons and ligaments. At that time, Dick says he responded in self-defense by grabbing a metal chair, throwing it in Crawford’s direction, and hitting him.

Crawford was taken to Cedars-Sinai hospital, and Dick was later arrested.

Related: If You’re Arrested for a Crime, Immediately Take These 6 Steps

Dick’s Troubled Past

This recent incident is added to a list of legal troubles and bad behavior from Dick.

Dick, who has publicly battled with sobriety, has had run-ins with the law that include drug possession, indecent exposure, and multiple sexual assault and groping charges. While a few charges were dropped or dismissed, a drug charge resulted in three years probation, and a sexual assault charge led to a civil suit resulting in unspecified damages awarded to the victims.

As of now, the recent assault charge has left Dick with a $50,000 bail which was paid, and Dick was released from jail.

Related: What Does It Take to Be an Attorney for a High-Profile Case? 

The Consequences of Assault and Battery Charges

The assault incident involving Dick took place in Hollywood and will abide by California law. The consequences will be based on statutes outlined in California laws.

In Florida, the rules on assault and battery are outlined in Chapter 784.

Assault is defined as “an intentional, unlawful threat by word or act to do violence to the person of another, coupled with an apparent ability to do so, and doing some act which creates a well-founded fear in such other person that such violence is imminent.” It is considered a misdemeanor of the second degree and can result in:

  • Probation up to sixty days
  • Fines up to $500
  • Up to sixty days in jail

Aggravated assault is defined as assault that includes the use of a deadly weapon without the intent to kill or with an intent to commit a felony. It is a felony of the third degree and can result in:

  • Probation up to five years
  • Fines up to $5,000
  • Up to five years in prison

Battery is defined as when a person “actually and intentionally touches or strikes another person against the will of the other or intentionally causes bodily harm to another person.” It is considered a misdemeanor of the first degree and can result in:

  • Probation up to one year
  • Fines up to $1,000
  • Up to a year in prison

If Dick’s incident had happened in Florida, he could be facing an aggravated assault charge, as it was deemed that he used a deadly weapon against Crawford. Dick may have also been charged with battery as he seemed to intentionally cause bodily harm to another person.

At this time, Dick’s charges stand with a felony assault with a deadly weapon in the California court system.

Related: The Best Criminal Defense Attorneys Have These 7 Qualities

Get a Criminal Defense Attorney for Assault and Battery Charges

Assault and battery charges are serious. They can result in fines, probation, and jail time. If you or someone you know has been arrested for or accused of assault and battery, talk to a criminal defense attorney right away.

An experienced attorney can guide you through a misdemeanor or felony charge to ensure that your case is processed fairly and that you reach a just outcome. Act quickly to protect yourself, especially if you feel you have been unjustly charged.

Get help today. Contact criminal defense attorney, TJ Grimaldi. Schedule your free consultation or call 813-226-1023.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.